Live Life Baby!

Hello my beautiful babies!  I hope you are have a most spectacular week so far.  Things have been busy here at my house.  I’ve been working extra hours at the flower shop in preparation for the Valentine’s day rush.

My angel painting sold also.  Thank you Eva!  🙂

I’ve also been working on a new painting.  I finished it today and frankly, I’m lovin it BIG TIME!  So here is your first hint to today’s work.

Tissue Box and Napkin

Inspiration

As most of you know, I’m a big flower girl.  I am also a huge fan of the pink.  Lately I’ve also fallen in love with the combination of hot pink and orange.  I haven’t gotten the courage to decorate the bedroom in these colors yet but I’m loving them nonetheless.  I bought this box of tissues mostly because of the box.  LOL!  I was walking in the grocery store and there she sat, just like a sparkly shining diamond.  She immediately captured my attention with her beautiful pink daisies and I was smitten.  I placed her in my buggy and she soon arrived at her new home.

The blue pansy napkin was one of a stack I was using in my bathroom for guest towels.  I have regular towels hanging but I also like to offer people another option.  Plus, I thought they were pretty.  The other day as I used the last of the tissues I felt a tiny bit sad at having to toss the pretty box away.  As I looked at the box I also noticed the pansies and I thought, “Hey!  I could paint those!”  Moment of pure genius I tell you.

I went to the canvas and sketched out a rough sketch of the painting.  Normally I have a sketch in my mind when I begin painting but not this time.  I had to paint the pink daisies!  Here is the beginning of the process.

Flowers on Canvas

First session

I put down some color and did the initial blocking of the flowers.  If you look on the bottom left hand side you can see where I also started playing with the background color.  Once I put the pink down I didn’t like the blue as much.

Pansies Added to Canvas

More detail

I had originally intended to paint the pansies purple, but then I decided to see if there were such things as orange pansies.  After a bit of online research I discovered to my happiness that there are indeed!  First blocks of color were added for them.

More flowers on canvas

More detail and depening of colors.

The next day I did a good bit more work on it.  I deepened the colors and also added lavender and purple to the background.  I was liking it but there was just something missing.  I decided it needed some dew drops.  Not only to add some visual interest but to give it more of a feeling of life than just a flat painting.

Dew Drops in painting

Little water drops

Now we were getting somewhere.  Deep rich colors and water drops.  I stepped back and still felt like it wasn’t complete.  I was getting a bit frustrated at this point because it’s rare for me to paint and feel like I’m not reaching the mark.  I decided this was because I started without a plan and made a decision to sleep on it.

Oh what a difference a dream makes!  I know this painting was meant to be because as I slept I kept dreaming about it.  I dreamed of butterflies and lady bugs.  I even dreamed of caterpillars and a chorus of singing bumble bees!

Finished painting

The Garden came to life!

What was missing in my garden painting was life!  The title changed from Friendly Flowers to Garden Life.  The groovy thing is that I laughed and giggled the whole time I was painting all of the critters.  When a painting makes you giggle as you are working on it, you can’t help but love it.

Here are a couple more close-ups for y’all. Okay so the chorus of singing bees didn’t make it in.  Maybe I’ll paint them later!

Monarch and a pretty caterpillar.

Lady Bugs in painting

Sweet little lady bugs!

If you would like to purchase this painting it is here in my Etsy shop.

The shipping is free if you are in the USA.  🙂

I learned a couple of things through this experience.  The first thing is that sometimes, you don’t have to have a plan.  Sometimes, if you just trust your gut, you can come up with a good answer to your puzzle.  I also learned that as I have begun to come out of my shell more and live life to the fullest, I am also developing a desire to see more of that in my own work.  So what do y’all think?  I would love to hear your opinions on the painting, learning to trust yourself, living life to the fullest or anything else you want to discuss.

I also wanted to toss out a reminder that there will be another give away coming up right after Valentines.  I wish I could do one sooner but I don’t want to promise you guys something and then not have time to do it.

So that’s it for today lovelies.  Don’t forget to smile at people and blow yourself a kiss as you pass the mirror!  You are beautiful beyond belief and loved beyond measure.  Be kind to yourself.  Much love to you all.

Published in: on February 2, 2012 at 5:17 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://peachbutter.wordpress.com/2012/02/02/live-life-baby/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Beautiful! I love the bold colors and the insects add an element of motion to the picture. Well played!

    • Thank you. 🙂 I love a lot of color. I always have. It’s good to see you here! *Hugs*

  2. I love flowers too so I’m sure this will sell very quickly! 🙂

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    Lake Forest, CA


Leave a Reply

