Oh how I’ve missed you!

Hello my beautiful darling angels!  I’ve been away far to long and I’ve missed you so much!  So many things have happened since my last post.  So grab a cup of coffee or tea and let’s settle in for a chat okay?

The last time I posted I was in the middle of the J a day for St. Jude’s project.  I was working at the flower shop and things were clicking right along.   Oh but how a moment can change your life.  I woke up the next day and my computer died.  I don’t mean kind of dead where you take it to the computer doctor for repair.   I mean dead like green and red data lines flowing in a vertical pattern when I booted her up.  She served me well for over six years but she was done.  I started saving my pennies for a new one and then my mom came for a visit.  She surprised me with a gift of computer cash and I was back in business!  Or so I thought.

She went home and two days later I got a phone call.  My precious mother had fallen getting out of bed and broken her neck.  Yes, that’s right.  She got up to get out of bed, fell and hit her head on the floor.  She broke her C1 & C2 vertebrae.  These are the two that control breathing and motor function.  It is nothing less than a miracle that she is not only alive but is having no motor skill or breathing issues.

They put her in a neck brace and she had to wear it day and night for about  2 months.  During this time we noticed that she was having difficulty remembering things and also some difficulty doing math.  Then she fell again.  No injury thank God but another fall.  Then one night she was out having dinner with her companion.  He had gone to get the car to pull around and pick her up.  He looked into his rear view mirror and she was laying face down on the grass.  He immediately took her to the ER and they kept her.

My mother is very independent and was anxious to get out of the hospital.  The doctors told her that she wasn’t going anywhere until they could surmise why she kept falling.  After a battery of tests they discovered that she had some very serious vascular issues with her heart.  The blood that is usually pumped to her brain was being rerouted into her chest wall because of a malformation in one of her main arteries.  This is what was causing the falls as well as her memory issues.

After a 5 1/2 hour surgery with two neurosurgeons working on her at the same time, one from the arm and the other through the groin, she was put in ICU.  We took turns going up to visit her and were both thrilled and relieved when she woke up and was doing well.  She was black and blue from the surgery but said she was feeling mostly okay other than the soreness.  The doctors had warned us that there was a risk of her brain swelling after the surgery because of the restored blood flow.   After a few days she was released and we got to bring her home on Thanksgiving day.  The day after Thanksgiving I had just finished taking a shower when I heard her screaming.  This was a scream like I’d never heard before and I hope I never hear again.  I knew something was wrong.  I ran into the kitchen where she was sitting and she just kept saying her arm was hurting.  We called 911 and back to the hospital we went.

They gave her some steroids to reduce the swelling in her arm and gave her a shot of morphine and after several hours, sent her back home.  We were all really surprised by this.  We figured they would keep her since the general consensus seemed to be that she had thrown a blood clot.

The following Monday she went to a follow-up with her doctor and he hears something unusual in her arm.  He admits her for more tests and they find out she’s got a tear in the artery in her arm.  That is what was causing all of the pain.  So they patched that up and now she is back home and recovering.

I have to tell you that I have always known that my mother was a very strong woman.  But seeing her go through all of this and watching her work so hard to get back to health has given me a new respect for her. We had a lovely Christmas together.  I made her a “No Worries Wanda” doll from paperclay.  (I’ll post about Wanda later.)  She loved her and that made me really happy.

Just before I left Florida we had a long talk.  We encouraged each other to keep moving forward and we made a promise to each other that we were both going to work to get healthy be the best we could be.  I feel closer to my mom than I’ve ever felt in my life and she says she feels the same way.  I gotta tell you, it’s pretty amazing.

So, true to my word to my mom and myself I came home and got busy painting.  I had prepped several canvases and then I went to lunch with a friend of mine.  We were talking about how life can really throw you a curve ball sometimes and she said, “That’s why they invented alcohol.”  We laughed and I said, “Some of us don’t drink!  It’s just life on the rocks.”  That got me to thinking about how prayer had been such a part of my mothers healing and how much it comforts me.  A lady that is part of a forum I belong too even asked her mom to go to the wall in Israel and say a prayer for my mother.  I can’t tell you how touched I was by this.  My mother had people praying for her all around the world!

All of these things gave me the idea to paint an angel.  I titled this piece “Prayer on the Rocks”.  I love the double meaning of the title.  Here are the pictures of the progress of the painting.  It’s now SOLD– Thank you!

First few layers for shading

Adding more detail and texturing her wings

Almost there but something still missing.

A flower halo and glaze and she's finished.

Well my sweet babies, that’s it for now.  If you read through the entire post you get a gold star!  LOL!  I’m home again and getting things back on track.  I will be posting daily again and I look forward to reconnecting with all of you.  I think it’s funny how we don’t realize just how much we need others until we don’t have them around for a time.  I’m so glad to be back and I hope to hear for you all soon.  Be kind to yourselves and remember you are loved beyond measure!

Published in: on January 25, 2012 at 1:27 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://peachbutter.wordpress.com/2012/01/25/oh-how-ive-missed-you/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh, how I’ve missed your encouraging words and the smiles you bring, I have been in prayer for both you and your mother and SO glad and happy to hear how God is working!
    HUGS,
    Andrea

    • Andrea! *HUGS* I’m so glad to see you. 🙂 I sent you an email but I’m not sure it made it to you. It is so good to be back. Thank you for the prayers. They are much needed and appreciated. Take care of yourself and thank you again.

  2. I’m sorry to read about your mother! What a blessing she did survive and rotten that it had to happen. Hopefully, this brought the family closer.

    I certainly hope she is on the road to a quicker recovery than anticipated! Glad to see you posting!

    Nice detail on your angel.

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    Lake Forest, CA

    • Hi Sandi,

      Yes it was terrible that she had to go through it all. It has brought us all closer together so that is the silver lining to it all. It’s good to see you again too! 🙂 Thank you for the compliments on the angel. I have a feeling there are going to be many more in my future.


Leave a Reply

