There is comfort in consistency.

Hello you rad rainbow surfer!  How is your most spectacular self today?  Things are good here in Atlanta.  The sun was out today and it was pretty hot.  I had lunch with a friend and then came home to make some soap.  I realized that I didn’t have enough distilled water to make soap so I had to run back to the store.  As I was driving I was thinking about how much I love my life.  I was thinking about how I have certain routines and that I find a bit of comfort in that. 

I returned home, distilled water in hand and got a phone call.  After the call I got busy.  There is something so soothing to me about making soap.  It sounds a bit crazy because making handmade soap requires working with lye.  If people tell you that you can make soap without lye, you have my permission to laugh at them.  You can’t.  Nope.  It can’t be done.  Anyway, I get lost in the process.  I love watching the soap batter come to trace.  I love adding the scent and I love molding the soap.  I love coloring the soap and I will often spend as much time planning a soaps design as I spend on the recipe itself. 

This is consistent with the joy I feel when I’m creating art.  For me it’s all about the process and seeing how close to the idea I have in my head that I can come too in reality.  Sometimes it’s very close and sometimes I end up on a totally different track.  What never changes is how happy it makes me to create. 

Tonight’s J is titled “J119 All balled up J”.  I named it this because I was just going for a different look around the J and it sort of resembles a ball of yarn to me.  This is a little 2 inch x 2 inch square.  I like the colors.  This next week is going to be very challenging for me because I won’t have a day off for six days straight.  I will be making a J everyday though.  I’m committed!  WOOT!

J119 All balled up J

 And just to make you smile tonight, a picture of Maddison the wonderdog with her toy.  She is so sassy!  I love her to pieces.  🙂

Sassy Wonderdog

 Be kind to yourself.  Find your joy.  Follow your bliss and love, love love!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://peachbutter.wordpress.com/2011/05/11/there-is-comfort-in-consistency/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

