Happy Mother’s Day and rehab.

Hello my friends.  I have some excellent news.  My mom doesn’t have to have any surgery.  I did the happy dance for quite a while when I heard this news.  🙂

She has a fracture in her C1 vertebrae.  This is the vertebrae at the very top of our spine at the base of the brain.  She is going to be in a neck brace for quite a while but they are very optimistic about her recovery.  She has no swelling in this area and she has all motor function and sensation. 

They moved her to rehab today.  I talked to her on the phone a couple of times today.  She’s tired but is doing well all things considered.  She asked about me and Maddison the wonderdog when I wished her a happy mothers day.  I am so incredibly grateful that her injuries were not worse, but I feel so sorry for her right now.  She is in for a long and uncomfortable recovery.  I just wish I could wave a magic wand and make it all go away.  Since I can’t do that, I think the best thing I can do is keep a positive attitude and keep reminding her how much I love her. 

I didn’t make a J today.  I’m going to have to play catch up with the J’s but I promise I will be back on track with them very soon.  Not only do I want to remain committed to this project, but my mom wouldn’t want me to quit either. 

I just wanted to take the time to update you all and thank all of you who left comments and emailed me.  I am always so warmed by the kindness of others whenever some type of tragedy or emergency happens.  It continues to renew my faith in the human race.  I know there is more kindness than evil in this world.  This is such a comfort to me.  Thank you for being such awesome, incredible and absolutely glowing individuals.  Thank you for sharing your love and light with me!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://peachbutter.wordpress.com/2011/05/08/happy-mothers-day-and-rehab/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh, I’m so happy and thankful with you!! What wonderful Mother’s Day news, and answer to prayer

  2. Hi Andrea,

    Yes a happy day all the way around. I even have to post about the wonderdog getting me a mother’s day gift. LOL Talk to you soon hon.

  3. I’m happy that your mom doesn’t have to have surgery.

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    Lake Forest, California USA

    • Thanks Sandi,

      We are all completely relieved about that part too. She’s tired today but in good spirits. Talk to you soon.


Leave a Reply

