Greatness requires attention.

Hello you spiritual lightning bugs!  Tonight I want to share some things with you that have been on my mind lately.  As many of you know, I’ve been doing a good bit of work not only on my art, but also on myself.  I’ve been studying and reading and trying to practice what I preach.  The last part isn’t really that hard most of the time for me.  I mean I love people automatically so it’s rarely a challenge for me.  Once in a blue moon someone comes along who challenges me in this area though.  Today was one of those days.

As I walked into the drug store to buy some dish soap, there was a woman sitting on the sidewalk.  I noticed she was surrounded by stuffed animals and other dirty toys.  It was obvious that she was on some kind of drug or she was mentally ill.  As I approached the door she went into a rant about parking spaces and cigarettes and birds stealing her butts.  I smiled and walked inside.  As I was checking out she entered the store.  She was very loud in her expression of disdain at the world.  She also reaked.  I had to gather all of my composure as she stood next to me and spoke in gibberish for several minutes.  I spoke to her and asked her if she needed anything.  She simply responded with “The birds keep stealing my butts!”  She then went outside and began walking along the grass median between the store and the street.  I noticed as I got into my car that I was struggling with my feelings.  On the one hand, I felt very sorry for her.  On the other hand, I wanted somebody to do something with her.  Take her somewhere where she could get some help.  But who?  Where?  

As I pulled out of my parking spot I looked over at her things that she had lined up by the wall of the store.   I put on my brakes and looked closer.  She had two of everything.  The things that stood out to me were the two little plastic dolls high heel shoes and then the two grape purple monkeys.  There was a method to this womans madness.  Whatever else was going on inside her mind, she was able to line up two of everything that she owned.  Just before pulling off I heard her say to this bird, “You keep singing.  Greatness requires attention.”   Then she was off on another gibberish rant.

As I drove home, I thought about this.  Greatness DOES require attention.  This is true for art, cooking, writing, sports, computer games and even love.  I read a quote recently that said, “We spend so much time looking for the perfect lover, when we should be creating the perfect love.”   This is what I am trying to create in my life and the lives of others.  I believe the perfect love is the love that we are able to give to others without expectation of reciprocation.  That’s the hard part sometimes.  It’s also the most rewarding when we are able to pull it off.  I am finding that the more I practice it, the more attention I pay to it, the easier it becomes.  It’s very satisfying and always leaves me wanting more.  And sometimes, my reminders come from the most unlikely places.

Today I checked my P.O. box and my friend Gaby had sent me a huge bag of stamps from all over the world.  THANK YOU GABY!  *HUGS*  She put a note in with them that said, “Go nuts!”  That made me giggle.  I have so many ideas in my head for how I want to use these.  And of course I had to create a J out of them.  This J simply flowed out of me tonight.  It was easy and natural and it made me smile because I had already decided what I was going to blog about tonight when I found the LOVE stamp.  That synched it.  Tonight’s J is titled “J116 Journey of Love Stamp J”.  I just love the way it turned out. 

J116 Journey of Love Stamp J

 I hope you like this piece.  I feel very connected to it.  I would love to hear any of your stories about how you’ve either been loved or been able to love someone unexpectedly.  Feel free to share here.  I really enjoy the dialogue and I learn so much from you all.  Thank you again for being the loving beings that you are.  Thank you for sending out positive energy into the universe.  I feel it.  I need it and I love it!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://peachbutter.wordpress.com/2011/05/03/greatness-requires-attention/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Loved your post and story about that lady. It all came together so nicely, the two of everything. I feel bad for homeless people, so this is hard to read. If I had a wish I would wish No animal or Person would be without a home!


Leave a Reply

