When you think you have nothing left, change your thinking.

Hello you sonic super cuties!  You are looking major cool today.  Just sayin.  Tonight I want to talk about digging deeper.  I had a glorious day today.  I thought I was going to work but it turns out I didn’t have too.  It was sunny and in the 70’s here.  A beautiful breeze was blowing all day and I felt like the universe was just hugging me.  I got a phone call from a friend and went for coffee.  A couple of hours later I was driving home and smiling wide.  I was in love with the world and I felt like the world was in love with me.  I was, as they say, in the zone.

I came home and I was in such a good mood that I didn’t want to buckle down and paint or create.  I know this sounds strange, but I just wanted to enjoy the feeling and not change my focus.  As the day wore on I began to think of what I could create for a J tonight.  I had nothing.  I picked up the copic markers.  I just wasn’t feeling it.  I looked at the buttons.  Nope, not feeling that either.  I thought about doing a zen tangle J but honestly I knew I wouldn’t make a good one because I wasn’t feeling that either. 

Then I opened my mouth and actually said, “I am empty.  I have nothing to give to this tonight.”  The minute I said that it felt wrong.  Not wrong as in you’re going to hell if you don’t do this, but wrong in the sense that I know I’m never empty.  Why did I say that?  As I tried to figure out why those words had come out of my mouth I realized that it really didn’t matter why I said it.  What mattered was changing that thought process.  I immediately said aloud, “I am NOT empty.  I am never without some sort of creative spark.  I have so much artistic energy in me that I can’t help but create!” 

I got up and walked back into my studio.  There on the bottom shelf was a picture frame that I had base coated ages ago.  I had intended to decorate it with mixed media in a shabby chic style but nothing ever came together with that.  Suddenly tonight I saw an opportunity to paint a shabby chic look instead of creating it with lace and buttons etc. 

I picked it up and began to paint.  I purposely used a very soft color scheme.  It’s uber soft and very feminine.  I love it!  Tomorrow when it’s really dry I’ll seal it with a high gloss sealer and tuck it away for the art show/auction.  A combination of positive thinking and positive action will always produce good results.  Here it is.

J94 Picture Frame J

Have you been feeling like you have nothing left lately?  Does it seem like the world is a hard place and you’re empty inside?  If so I’m here to tell you that it’s a lie.  You may be tired, but you are FULL of wonderful and magical gifts.  You are magnificently created!  You are a gift to the world and we need you!  Take time for you.  Love yourself and let others love you.  We all need to be re-energized at times.  There is a huge difference between tired and empty.  You are way to full of magic and light to ever be empty.  Tell yourself that you have much to give and let your ideas flow.  Peace and love to you always.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://peachbutter.wordpress.com/2011/04/11/when-you-think-you-have-nothing-left-change-your-thinking/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Makes perfect sense, it was beautiful here today too. And the really funny thing is, I had lunch with a dear friend today, too, hadn’t done that in months 🙂

  2. Hey Andrea! *HUGS* It’s good to see you. 🙂 I’m so glad you were able to have lunch with a friend and just enjoy the day. I love those gifts from God.

  3. Someone will really like that photo frame. I haven’t had a writers block, yet…I’m sure it’ll come.

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com

    • Thanks Sandi. I don’t have any idea how much money will be raised but I’m already visualizing huge success. 🙂 My goal is to have a nice mix of art pieces not only to create more of an interest for viewers but also to appeal to different tastes. It’s great to see you!


Leave a Reply

