What’s up with all these J’s?

Hello you cosmic groove dancers!  Are you shaking your groove thing today?  I hope so.  Sandi over at Ahhsome.wordpress.com asked me a question today.  She asked simply, okay what’s up with all the J’s for us newbies?  I keep forgetting there are new people looking all the time who weren’t here for the beginning.  I was inspired to create something everyday by Noah Scalin.  He created a skull a day for a year.  He said that he learned so much about himself and his art that he recommended it for everyone.  He said pick something simple and make one everyday.  I picked the letter J because it’s the beginning letter of my name.  After a while though, I didn’t feel motivated because it didn’t seem very important to create a J a day just for the sake of a J a day.  I meditated on this because I was committed to the project and I didn’t want to just give up.  I decided that I wanted to create something meaningful and something that would help someone in some way.  As I began to think of ways I could do this I saw an ad for a children’s hospital.  The lightbulb went off!  We have St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital here in Atlanta!  No longer was I just creating a J a day because it’s the first letter of my name but I was creating for a purpose!  My entire attitude and creative process changed at that point.  Now I strive to create art that will actually sell.  My goal is to have an auction or a gallery sponsored show in which 100% of the proceeds go to St. Jude’s Children’s Hospital.  If you click on the little owl to the right, you can view a slide show of all the J’s created so far.  

I’m only 92 days into it so far and I can already tell you that this project has changed me for the better.  In the past I’ve sometimes floundered with my art and lost my focus.  This project has given me a set goal to aim for.  The beauty in this goal is that it’s not about me.  It’s about helping other people.  The cool and groovy part is that I’m getting so many spiritual and artistic gifts from it that it blows my mind.  I’m creating a themed body of work and everyday my mind has to come up with another angle or idea.  I also love the way it is expanding my thinking on what items I can use to create with.  Another surprise has been all of the people who are supporting my efforts and cheering me on.  I love meeting new people and making new friends and it’s just been such a blessing to me.  So, that’s the update on the J’s for all the new people.  Thanks for asking the question Sandi. 

Tonight’s J is titled “J92 Priscilla Pig J”.  I hid the J in the painting tonight.  Can you find it?

J92 Priscilla Pig J

I hope your day includes some flowers and sunshine.  I hope you can feel the warmth on your skin and the wind in your hair.  Turn the radio up and sing loud.  If you’re in the car when you’re singing I say sing extra loud.  When people look at you like you are crazy start dancing in your seat too!  FUN FUN FUN!  YOU YOU YOU!  Feel the love!

Published in: on April 9, 2011 at 11:59 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://peachbutter.wordpress.com/2011/04/09/whats-up-with-all-these-js/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. LOVE that last paragraph! You go girl 🙂

    • Hey Miss Jaclyn,

      Thanks hon. I figure we can choose to be in joy or choose to follow the masses. I pick joy. 🙂 *HUGS* It’s so good to see you as always.

      Jacqueline

  2. hey! thanks for the answer. This is the first time I’ve had to get back and scroll/read through some posts!

    Good job and love that you have a purpose and I hope you have a very successful fundraiser. You might want to add this post as a page “about page” so that people understand?

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com

  3. Hi Sandi,

    Thank you. That’s a great idea about the “about” page too. I’ll do that! *Hugs*

    Jacqueline


Leave a Reply

