I believe in love.

Hello you cosmic jelly beans!  I hope you’ve had a wonderful weekend.  I woke up today expecting an adventure and I wasn’t disappointed.  I told you yesterday that I was going to have to go buy a new blending pen or some blending solution today in order to finish the seahorse J.  This is where the fun began.  I woke up this morning to an email from Michaels.  This email included a 40% off coupon for all artists pens and markers.  SCORE!  I called the store, they said they had them and off I went.  I was smiling and singing as I drove to Michaels.  Soon, oh so very soon I would have my coveted blending pen AND it’s going to be 40% off!  I arrive on the scene only to discover that not only do they not have the blending solution but they don’t even carry the copic markers.  Apparently the employee I spoke too either guessed or just said they had them in order to get off the phone.  Thirty minutes, two employees and one manager later, it was indeed confirmed that I was out of luck. 

No worries!  I hopped in my car and dashed over to Hobby Lobby.  Ahhhh Hobby Lobby.  They have a definite soft spot in my heart.  Not only do they carry everything under the sun but they also have the best customer service in my experience.  I turn the corner and see the light at the entrance to the shopping center.  I’m so excited I can barely stand it.  I am going to come home and finish my little seahorse and then start on tonight’s J.  Then it happened.  I made my turn and saw an empty parking lot.  Initially I panicked.  Surely by beloved Hobby Lobby hasn’t gone out of business?!!  I drive slowly up to the door, almost afraid to see an empty building.  Then I see the sign.  Sunday hours….CLOSED.   I simultaneously felt the following things.  Oh thank God they are still open!  Rats I can’t get my pen today!  That’s so cool that they are closed on Sundays and their employees get that day off every week!  I have a newfound respect for Hobby Lobby.  I love them.  Seriously, I do.

I came home and decided to do a bit of coloring on the seahorse anyway.  I decided not to finish because I was not getting the blending that I wanted.  However, I promised you yesterday that you would see some color on the seahorse today so here she is so far.

Seahorse J partial color

After working on her for a bit I tried to think of something to create for tonight’s J.  Blank.  Absolute and total blank.  We’re talkin, the kinda blank the first time you get caught with your hand in the cookie jar as a kid.  The kinda blank when the good-looking guy smiles at you in high school.  Blank I tell ya, nada, nothing.  I sat down and painted the background of a canvas.  Very pretty pink, lavender and blues mixed.  It’s nice but it’s not speaking to me today.  Then I pondered a zen J.  Not in the mood for that and one must be in the mood to create an effective zentangle. 

So, I did what I always do when I’m stuck.  I move on to something else and work on that.  I allow my mind to release what I was so tense about and allow it to focus on the new project.  This worked out well for me today because I was able to finish my friends box that I’ve been working on for a couple of weeks a few minutes at a time.  Here is the finished box.

G's box

I am going to fill this box with tiny 3 X 3 inch cards in envelopes with silly jokes, inspirational quotes and art by the inch pieces for her to discover each day.  I hope it helps her to smile a bit as she goes through the radiation treatments.  I’ll post some pics of the contents in a few days after I mail it to her. 

After I finished the box I began to look around for something to create my J on.  Then I saw it.  It was a canvas that I had already prepped the background in browns.  I had pasted the word LOVE along the bottom and stamped a heart with wings.  I had also glued two blank pieces of cardstock on the left.  I had intended to create a very elaborate mixed media piece.  But a funny thing happened on the way to the J tonight.  This canvas told me it wanted to be a forest.  So I give you tonight’s J.  A forest of love trees.  J86 Believe in Love J.

J86 Believe in Love J

I do believe in love.  I believe that love is always the answer, even when it’s the hardest answer.  I believe that YOU are a walking, talking, disco dancin love machine!  Or you know, there is a possibility that you are a two-step line dancing machine, but really people aren’t as interested in the type of dance as much as the fact that you do the dance.  WOO HOO look at those moves!  Oh yeah.  Oh yeah.  Rock on.  Rock on with your fabulous self!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://peachbutter.wordpress.com/2011/04/03/i-believe-in-love/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. “forest of love trees”… that’s great 🙂

  2. Hey Andrea! Sometimes I think that we just miss all the love that nature is offering us. I’ve gotten so far away from being outside that I realize I need to go on more camping trips and hikes. I’m so glad you stopped by! *HUGS* It’s always so good to see you hon. Talk to you soon.

  3. Ok- let me say “Cosmic Jellybeans” funny- reminds me of an outrageous band I love so much B52’s. They have a song call Cosmic…wooooo, Cosmic…woooo shake, shake your Cosmic Alien thing!

    and they got the whole “alien” theme going or something! Don’t forget to shake them honeybuns..oh yea! 🙂

    i found it http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pgK1D3_x6ZQ

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com

  4. Okay, I had to come back and find this! I just joined “Vodpod” and it’s another great way to add to the blog. Anyway, it’s also a great way to advertise/plug other bloggers.

    On my sidebar, you’ll see the B52’s and I said it was inspired by your post. They can highlight/copy/past into their browser, or go to my actual vodpod site and there they can click on the link!

    It’s so cool!

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com

    • Thanks Sandi. 🙂 This is cool! I got to listen to Cosmic Thing again too. WOOT!


Leave a Reply

