Pink snails and passion.

Hello you gorgeous luminous beings!  Tonight I got a phone call from a friend who also helps with the accounting for Peachbutter Studio Arts.  He was calling because he is out of his favorite soap and I don’t have any restock made right now.  This led to a discussion about how many hours I’ve been working lately and how tired I have been when I’m not working.  During the course of this conversation he reminded me that while I need to pay the bills, I also need to follow my passions.  In my case that is art and soap making.  I related to him how I feel like I’ve been moving at a snail’s pace lately with my art and how frustrating that can be at times.  As we talked, I was doodling.  I do this a lot when I’m on the phone.  I was doodling swirls and there it was right in front of me.  A snail-shell. 

I have been feeling a bit overwhelmed with life and underwhelmed with my artwork lately.  I’m pretty sure this is due to the fact that it feels like I’ve only had time to do whimsical sketches and drawings recently.  Don’t get me wrong.  I love the playfulness of my art, even in my doodles and such.  But there is a deeper side of me that paints canvas works that take days and sometimes weeks to complete.  These are the pieces I’ve been missing lately.  I know that part of this is because I’ve committed to creating a J a day no matter what.  The fact of the matter is that it takes time to do this.  Even on the days when the J’s are very simple, it still takes time to create them. 

I realized tonight that I’ve been “shoulding” on myself.  I should be making more serious art for this project.  I should be able to do more than one J a day.  I should be organizing the show already.  I should I should I should….. AHHHHHHH!!!   The truth is, I am doing this because I have a passion for art.  I am doing this because I want to make a difference, even if it’s just a small difference, in someones life.  I am doing this because I believe that we all have gifts, talents and passions that are supposed to be shared with the world.  If I can make one person smile with my art then it has accomplished what I set out to do. 

So no more shoulding on me.  I am going to create the best J’s I can in the given amount of time I have each day.  This means some days they will be doodles or sketches and some days they will be completed works that I have been painting for weeks.  All art, all good in its own way.  *Deep cleansing breath*  I already feel better!  Isn’t it cool when we can get off our own backs?  Tonight’s J is titled J83 Pink Snail J.  I think she’s cute. 

J83 Pink Snail J

I might go back and add a poem to the empty blue space.  Something along the lines of…Run your own race…..follow your own pace.  What do you think?  This is done with copic markers on watercolor paper so it would be easy to go back in and write some. 

I hope you aren’t “shoulding” on yourself today.  If you are, knock it off.  Seriously, it’s just extra stress you don’t need.  Besides, when we do that we are just blocking all the joy from our lives.  Be kind to yourself today.  Don’t forget to give somebody and hug and a kiss today.  It matters and so do you!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://peachbutter.wordpress.com/2011/03/31/pink-snails-and-passion/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank you for the encouragement as always, and your little bird makes me smile every day 🙂
    And yes, everyone else puts enough “shoulds” on us, we need to stop putting them on our own shoulders!!

    • Hey Andrea! *HUGS* It’s so good to see you again. Yes the rest of the world shoulds on us too. LOL I’m over it frankly.


Leave a Reply

