Small Little Secrets in a box

Hello my twinkling stars!  How are things in your world today?  I hope they are fabulous!  Good times here in Ga. today.  The weather was lovely, albeit a bit chilly.  Still, the sun was out and it was gorgeous.  We had a bit of adventure early this morning.  The wonder dog decided that she was tired of watching the squirrels that live in the tree across the parking lot from my apt.  She dragged me over to say hello.  She is still quite confused at the mass exodus that took place as she went barreling towards them.  Poor wonder dog.

I got a good bit accomplished today on the artistic front.  I finished this little trinket box that is tonight’s J.  I love it because it’s the perfect place to hide little trinkets or other secret things.  I had downloaded this antique picture of this sweet little girl ages ago.  I loved her but I couldn’t figure out how to use the image.  When I make these boxes I usually add three dimensional items since it is a shadow box on top.  This time I decided to use her image.  I love the effect.  I painted the green J’s along the corners and then added the swarvoski crystals to add just a little sparkle.  I love how it turned out.

J80 Little Secrets Box J

J80 Little Secrets Box Closeup

I think when it’s time for the art show I’m going to tuck some little something into this box as a surprise for the buyer.  I’ve been doing a lot of thinking this week about this project.  I’m really getting excited at the prospect of raising money with my art.  Right now I’m working on a canvas with an angel, a canvas with a pig and a flower-pot.  It’s going to be a wonderful mix of pieces and I’m hoping to appeal to many different tastes.  I want to thank y’all for emailing me and commenting with your words of encouragement. 

I am a very upbeat person and I believe in sowing seeds of love, light and laughter into other people’s lives.  Sometimes as an artist you wonder if anyone is watching or if they care.  I think a lot of that comes from the isolation that is necessary to work.  I just wanted y’all to know how much your encouragement means to me.  There are days when it truly is my source of strength to keep going no matter what.  You’re the best!  Thank you.  Give yourself a big hug for me!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://peachbutter.wordpress.com/2011/03/28/small-little-secrets-in-a-box/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

