Don’t be a catfish. You can be a flashy fish.

Hello my fabulous life stream swimmers!  It was a glorious day here today!  The weather was beautiful and there was a nice breeze all day.  I took a long drive today and it was so good for my soul.  There is just something so magical about driving with the window down, letting the wind blow through your hair as the sun shines down on you. 

I also talked to my mentor today.  He has had a nickname for me for a while.  That nickname was “catfish”.  Now before my non-southern friends roll your eyes let me explain.  This wasn’t some “Dukes of Hazard” type deal.  He called me catfish because I was hiding from the world for so long.  You see catfish lie on the bottom of the river and they cover themselves with mud so as not to be noticed.  My mentor said that I was doing that with my art and with who I am as a person.  I’ve been working on changing that for a while and today I took another step into the light.  I have to tell you, it felt wonderful.  Taking risks can be so scary but the rewards can be amazing.  I am happy to say that I’m no longer a catfish.  I’m now a flashy fish!  I’m in the stream swimming and finding my own path and I have to say the water is great! 

If there is something that has you stuck in catfish mode, I highly recommend taking a risk and doing something you are afraid to do.  I read somewhere once that most of our fears are tissue paper thin and a single courageous step will carry us right through them.  It’s true and tummy butterflies are awesome! 

Tonight’s J is titled “J76 Flashy Fish”.  This is another art squared piece that is also an art by the inch work.  This little fish is only 2 inches by 2 inches big.  Isn’t she cute?  I’m totally in love with her. 

J76 Flashy Fish

So one of the risks I took today was sending an inquiry to a company about submitting my art.  I really hope that they find my work to be a good fit with them.  They are part of the positive press family so I know we have the same philosophies.  However, if I never hear from them I took the steps.  The important thing is I believe in me enough to try.  You all help me with that every single day.  I thank you and love you for it!  I kind of like the idea of a school of flashy fish!  Blessings, love and peace to you all.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://peachbutter.wordpress.com/2011/03/24/dont-be-a-catfish-you-can-be-a-flashy-fish/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You are truly learning the lessons that I am as far as taking chances. It was said once that life without chances is not life just survival. we all have to take chances to be who we want to be and not let anyone or anything including our own fears stand in our way. Another reason we all refuse to take chances is we don’t think we deserve more than we have so why chance being rejected or hurt. One answer, because The Great spirit took a chance on us and we need to take the same chances on ourselves.

    • Hey Ricky,
      That is so true. Thanks for stopping by!

      Jacqueline


Leave a Reply

