Is your umbrella up?

Hello my super special hip cool peeps!  It’s been raining here since last night.  I love the rain.  I love sleeping when it’s raining.  I love painting while it rains.  I even love watching it rain when I’m in a cabin out in the woods.  There is just something magical and cleansing about it. 

I had a conversation today with one of my mentors.  He commented on how much growth and change he’s seen in me in the past few months.  He also commented on how my art is evolving and how he’s able to see new joy coming from my art.  This really made me smile because fun, laughter and joy is what I strive for in my whimsical art.  When I do fine painting I’m in a totally different mindset but in my J’s I am going for whimsy. 

This led to another discussion about going for our dreams and not letting anyone rain on them.  When negative people try to rain on your dreams open up that umbrella!  Sometimes it feels like we’re all alone in this world, but you know what?  It’s never true.  We are never alone, just lonely.  All we have to do is reach out to others and we are instantly delivered back into the world of human connection. 

Tonight’s J is titled “J67 Dreams J”.  This is an art squared piece.  It’s done with copic markers, india ink and a watercolor background.  I really had fun playing with the watercolor.  It’s fun to see the different effects I can accomplish with them.  I’m also totally in love with the copic markers.  I can’t wait to expand my color palette with these. 

J67 Dreams J

I hope you are chasing your dreams.  I hope you open that umbrella when you need to and let the sun shine on you the rest of the time.  I hope you will always remember how special you are and how much you mean to the people in your life.  I hope that you see your beautiful reflection in the puddles and shout out to the world, “I’m AWESOME!”  Because baby, you are!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://peachbutter.wordpress.com/2011/03/15/is-your-umbrella-up/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love that umbrella especially if I twirl it under the rain with a smile so big! Would like to share with you the Versatile Blogger Award 🙂 http://bendedspoon.wordpress.com/2011/03/17/oh-oh-oh-i-am-versatile/

  2. I love the rain too! Beautiful art 🙂


Leave a Reply

