Make a decision to be happy and you might see jolly.

Hello you warm fuzzy cuddle bugs!  I hope you have had a wonderful weekend.  Things here have been just dandy today.  I slept late today.  I slept really late today.  I haven’t done that in ages.  It felt wonderful.  The temperature in my bedroom was absolutely perfect for sleeping.  I woke naturally and had the most awesome stretch.  You know the kind of stretch that wakes up every muscle in your body.  What a fabulous way to begin my day. 

I want to talk about happiness today.  I spent so many years of my life looking forward to the day I would finally be happy.  I concentrated on all the outside things that I thought would land me in happyland.  You know the ones, marriage, weight loss, great job maybe even children.  The problem with looking for happiness outside of ourselves is that all of these things can change or even be taken away from us at any time. 

A couple of years ago I began really reading, listening to mentors and trying to learn everything I could about happy and successful people.  This is when I discovered that happiness is a decision.  It’s a decision that we make every single day.  We can even make the decision to be happy when things outside of ourselves say we shouldn’t.  In fact, when we are able to make the decision to be happy in spite of our circumstances, this is when things shift and actually do improve. 

The last few months have been a life lesson for me.  I cried many many tears as I processed things.  After having dealt with some serious issues from my past, I made a decision to live each day to the best of my abilities.  I made a decision that I was going to choose happiness, joy, peace and love no matter what.  And guess what happened.  My life is profoundly different and I am profoundly changed.  Not only have I found happiness but I have found joy.  Not only am I honestly and truly happy but I am honestly and truly jolly.   I am blessed in so many ways and I know it.

Washington Irving wrote..”There is a sacredness in tears. They are not the mark of weakness, but of power. They speak more eloquently than ten thousand tongues. They are messengers of overwhelming grief…and unspeakable love”     He’s right.  God has shown me such unspeakable love through so many people.  I am a different person because of this love.  I am eternally grateful for this gift. 

J58 Jolly J

Todays J is titled “J58 Jolly J”.  I hope and pray that each of you will be able to make a decision to be happy.  My wish for you all is that you will see yourself the way God and the Universe sees you.  You are a song, a bird in flight, a gentle spring breeze, a flower in bloom, a kittens purr and a puppy’s kiss.  You are all of the things and more that create happiness in the world.  I hope you decide to be happy today and share that happiness with someone else.  You are loved beyond measure.  You always have been.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://peachbutter.wordpress.com/2011/03/06/make-a-decision-to-be-happy-and-you-might-see-jolly/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

