Sometimes it’s the small things.

Hey there my fantastic friends!  Today was a pretty good day for me.  I got some things done that I’ve not been able to tend to for the last couple of weeks.  You know, all the sexy stuff like laundry, cleaning the refrigerator and taking out the trash.  I also got some art made today.  Tonight’s post is going to be a bit pic heavy so I’m going to keep the post as short as possible for you. 

I couldn’t stop thinking about the jiggle J from last night.  I simply wasn’t happy with it and it wouldn’t stop calling me.  I have had pieces in the past that I wasn’t happy with but they didn’t call to me so I left them be.  This was not the case with the Jiggle J.  She definitely wanted to be more.  I also received a request yesterday to show more of my process when possible so I have done that tonight as well.  So here goes.

Pencil Jiggle

When I pulled this out again today I kind of laughed because it looks so completely unfinished to me today.  Last night, with my lil sleep deprived self, it was lookin pretty good.  LOL!  Oh what a difference 8 hours sleep makes!  The first thing I did was brighten the colors with acrylic paint.

Jiggle J partially filled in

The second step was to fill in the letters with black.  I was going to use my black watercolor pencil but I decided to go with acrylic paints throughout.  I made the right decision I think.

Jiggle J 3

After the black was complete.  I really like the way the colors pop now.  I thought I was finished with it until I opened a box of buttons I have on my table.  Suddenly I giggled because I saw the perfect finishing element for this art.

Jiggle J with eyes

Now there are very few pieces of art that you can use goofy plastic eyes with.  However, this one just screamed for them.  I love them here.  They are so much fun! 

Okay now for todays J.  Todays J is titled “J48 Simple Joys”.  I started out with a 6 X 6 square of Strathmore acrylic linen paper.  Have I mentioned how much I love this paper?  I drew the word joy with one of my micron pens in black.  I colored this in with a blue watercolor pencil.

Joy 1

At this point I wasn’t sure how I was going to proceed.  I knew that I wanted a light green background so I also added some yellow pencil to the background.  I wanted to underpin the green a bit and keep it lighter than a grass green.

Joy 2

Next came the green pencil.  Then I added some water and gave the background a bit of texture and depth.  I went darker along the edges to frame the work.

Joy Green frame

At this point I felt stuck.  I couldn’t decide if I wanted to paint flowers or butterflies.  I also thought about altering the piece but nothing was striking my fancy.  I started rummaging through one of my drawers and I found a bag of fruit cutouts for decoupage.  I was gifted these several years ago by my mom when one of her friends passed away.  This lady was an artist and I was the recipient of some of her supplies.  I found some delicious looking cherries and they just looked like they belonged there.  What do you think?

J48 Simple Joys

I did a bit of shading around the cherries with some acrylic paint and some blending gel.  I’m quite pleased with the way it turned out.  It’s a simple piece but I love the way the colors work together.  It’s also small enough that it could fit in any corner.  I had worked with Art2 or Art Squared a few years ago.  I had forgotten how much fun it can be to make these little works of art.

I also had a thought today.  I was thinking that it might me cool to auction off all of these J’s for charity when I have completed them.  I was thinking of St. Jude’s Children’s hospital.  I’ve never done this before so I’m still trying to figure things out in my mind, but I like the idea.  If any of you have any input I would love to hear it as well. 

So that’s the post for tonight kiddos.  Two small little things that made me smile today.  Sometimes I get so busy and stressed out I forget to stop and notice the little things.  I’m glad today wasn’t one of those days!  Have a wonderful night.  Remember to hug yourself and anybody else who is nearby before you sleep.  It will do you both good!  I’m sending you LOVE and positive healing vibes.  Close your eyes and feel it.  Pretty groovy eh?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://peachbutter.wordpress.com/2011/02/24/sometimes-its-the-small-things/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You are so inspiring! I always leave your blog with a smile. Thank you 🙂

  2. Hi Jaclyn,
    I’m glad you leave with a smile. This is my goal. 🙂 But did you know that your writing has the same effect on me? I love the way God uses different people in ours lives to bless us. Thanks for visiting.
    Jacqueline


Leave a Reply

