Every Artist Will Deal With Failure

Hello my yummy love muffins!  How are you today?  I have had a very long day but I have learned a lot as well.  Tonight I want to talk a bit about failure.  Every artist, every human being for that matter, is going to experience failure from time to time.  The important thing is your reaction to these things. 

When I began this Journey of the J I had grand visions of all of this wonderful art coming out of me.  So many wonderful ideas, some of which I haven’t created yet, danced in my head.  Tonight I had the vision.  I knew exactly what I wanted to do and how I was going to do it.  SCORE!  Well, erm, not quite.

Tonight’s J is titled “J46 J Fail”.   Behold the piece that broke my heart tonight. 

J46 J Fail

This is a card that I was trying to create.  I used watercolor pencils and what was supposed to be a waterproof black pen.  I wanted the background colors to be deep and rich and draw you in.  The font a crisp black that made it’s statement as boldly as the rest of the card.  As you can see, my black pen is NOT waterproof.  Not even close.  I also didn’t get enough pencil down to create the dark colors I wanted.  Could I have redone it before showing you?  Yup.  Would I have prefered that?  Yup.  But the thing is, that’s not what this journey is all about.  This journey is about exploring life, myself and success through positive thinking and actions.

So here is the positive part, I saw the vision and I tried to create this.  Obviously, this attempt was a dismal failure.  However, I learned some very valuable lessons with this piece.  Most importantly, I need to check my black pens for water resistance BEFORE I create an entire watercolor piece with them.  LOL!  Second, I need to lay down much more pencil for a darker look.  And third, this piece is a failure, I am not.  I will attempt this again at some point.  I will include this piece in the collection of J’s because this was an honest attempt and, as are all failures in our lives, part of the journey. 

I love you all.  If you fell down lately I’m sorry.  Dust your knees off, pick your paintbrushes, pencils, books or music up and try again.  Your next masterpiece is just around the corner and I can’t wait to see the magnificence of your work!  Now get out there and shake your artsy fartsy money maker!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://peachbutter.wordpress.com/2011/02/22/every-artist-will-deal-with-failure/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thank you for sharing, and your encouragment!

    • We all need to be encouraged from time to time. 🙂 You encourage me with your visits all the time! *HUGS*


Leave a Reply

