Outside the box and happy with the results.

Hello friends, surfers and fellow artists!  Today was a challenging day for me.  I woke up tired.  Does that happen to any of you?  I know for me it’s because I have a sleep disorder called “Alpha wave intrusion syndrome”.  That’s just a big fancy term for “we’re sorry but your butt isn’t going to be getting any sleep tonight because your pain threshold has been surpassed and we are now pissed and plan to keep you up all night.”  I am going to have to get back on the nightly aleve program again for a while I guess.  I hate taking meds.  I hate not sleeping more.  I was supposed to have dinner with a friend but I cancelled and decided to take care of myself instead. 

I didn’t want to draw a J today.  I think I’ve gotten a bit burned out on the colored pencils.  (My inner child artist just fainted.  LOL)  As I was looking through different things in my studio nothing was clicking.  I thought about doing a canvas J but that wasn’t jazzing me either.  That’s when I spied one of the bases I use for my birds.  These are just little wooden bases that I glue some of my birds too.  Here is an example of one just primed but not painted yet. 

Simple Bird Base

I looked at the one that has been hanging around my studio for months.  I painted it green and was planning to use it for a bird.  However, so far none of the birds were interested in perching on it so there it sat.  Today I looked at it with a different set of eyes and suddenly it’s fate was sealed! 

A few weeks ago I was in  Hobby Lobby buying some supplies and I found these feathers.  Now I am not usually a feather kinda gal.  Although I love them, I rarely use them because I fear they don’t have a long life.  These captured my heart though.  Several minutes later they were traveling home with me in bags with other treasures for making new treasures.

I also found a cab face that I had made and painted for another project only to find she was much to small when I had finished her.  Tonight I gathered all of these orphans together, added my brightly colored feathers and painted a J on the base.  I am in LOVE!  Seriously, it’s silly how much I love this piece.  It’s tiny and colorful and makes me giggle.  I have a feeling this isn’t going to be the last one of these I make.  What do you think of her? 

J42 Out of the box J

I’m sorry I’ve been down the last few days.  It will pass.  It always does.  🙂  I love you.  I love you.  I love you!  Please forgive me.  *HUGS*  More tomorrow.  You are all so fabulous!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://peachbutter.wordpress.com/2011/02/18/outside-the-box-and-happy-with-the-results/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I love it, what a creative piece, and yes, you should definitely make more of these!! She made me smile, too!


Leave a Reply

