Pinecones, Coffee and happiness.

Greetings all you hip smokin hot light gliders!   This has been a most wonderful, albeit exhausting sunday.  I worked at the flower shop again today.  After work I went for some food with a friend.  We laughed and talked and then just enjoyed our meal.  My friend looks at me and says, “Sometimes silence makes me happy.”  We both just laughed and nodded.  We were laughing because earlier in the day another friend and coworker had given her some coffee and she made a similar remark.  “Oh coffee!  Coffee makes me happy!” 

As I was driving home I thought about some of the things that make me happy.  I was a bit surprised at how many of these things are small.  Coffee also makes me happy.  Little bottles of paint, colored pencils and new oils for making soap make me happy.  This morning when I was walking the wonder dog I was noticing some of the pine cones on the trees.  I was thinking how happy I was going to be when it was time to decorate the house again.  I love pinecones.  You can use them for so many things.  They make me happy too.  Another small and simple thing. 

Todays J is titled “J37 Pinecone J”.   Finishing my J a day makes me happy.  Reading the comments you guys leave makes me happy.  So many simple things. 

J37 Pinecone J

J37 Pinecone J

How many small or simple things can you think of that make you happy?  I think after valentine’s day is over I’m actually going to sit down and make a list of these things.  I encourage you to try this as well.  Then find out what little things make those around you happy and give it to them.  It’s a groovy way to make somebody smile and I promise you will be smiling all day too! 

My friends all know that I LOVE LOVE LOVE earrings.  Earrings have made me happy for a long time.  Two of my coworkers are also jewelry artisans.  Each of them made me earrings for valentine’s day.  The pair on the left was made by my friend Leslie.  The pair on the right was made by my friend Janet.  Aren’t they beautiful?  I’m happy! 

Valentines earrings

Be kind to yourself today.  Give somebody something to make them smile.  It’s not the size of the gift that matters.  It’s the fact that you took the time to show them and tell them that they matter to you.  And this my friends, is no small thing.  I love you all.  Can you feel it?

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://peachbutter.wordpress.com/2011/02/13/pinecones-coffee-and-happiness/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a great post for Valentine’s Day! I’m a little down today, because my hubby & I are too broke to do something “special”, but you know what? We had a small dinner at Cracker Barrel Sat. night and watched 2 whole videos together, snuggled up on the couch this weekend!
    Thanks for the reminder of appreciating the simple, small things that make us happy, I needed that today!

  2. Hi Andrea,
    I’m so glad my post was a happy reminder for you. 🙂 What a fabulous way to spend a weekend. Money can definately get us all down from time to time, but you’re right that it’s the small joys together that matter. *Hugs* Thanks for stopping by today. You made my day better by doing so!

    Jacqueline


Leave a Reply

