Do you look at them or through them?

Hello all of you happy rays of sunshine!  Thank you so much for dropping by again.  I look forward to your visits.  You may not realize it, but the positive energy and love that you send out when you read my blog gives me strength.  Thank you for that.

Todays J is going to be a bit different.  It’s going to be a bit different for two reasons.  The first reason is that todays J wasn’t my idea.  The second reason is that it’s a subject matter that is rarely covered in art.  I have a friend who is in a wheelchair.  We had a rather lengthy and in-depth discussion today about some of the things he endured while growing up.  He was surprised to find out that a lot of the feelings he has I have also experienced. 

You see, I was in the hospital several years ago on a respirator.  I had an anaphylactic reaction to some dog dip.  I went into respiratory arrest and ended up on a respirator for three days.  I was in the hospital for a week after coming off of the respirator.  During this time, I was completely helpless.  I had to depend on others for my every need.  Even my need to breathe was controlled by a machine and doctors and nurses.  Thank God for them! 

We talked about that aspect of our lives.  We also talked about the common human behavior of looking through people who are different from us.  Have you ever found yourself looking through someone in a wheelchair.  Or perhaps you looked away instead of looking them in the eye and acknowledging their humanity?  What about someone who is morbidly obese?  Same thing?  Or perhaps someone who is missing a limb? 

Why do we do this?  I believe it’s all fear based.  We don’t know what to say because we’ve never encountered people like this before.  We live in fear of hurting their feelings or perhaps it’s an even deeper fear.  Perhaps a fear that we could someday be in that position and that thought is just to painful to bear.  I remember once having lunch with a friend who is morbidly obese.  This woman almost fell down because she was trying so hard not to look at the two of us.  When she caught herself she found herself almost face to face with my friend.  She had a look of horror on her face and my friend smiled sweetly and said, “Don’t worry honey, it’s not catching.”  The woman gathered herself up and walked off without a word.  What could she say at that point really?

I believe that no matter what the issue is in life, that love is the answer.  I haven’t always held this belief but I do today.  And one thing that is becoming clearer by the day is that it all begins with self-love.  Love yourself enough to be kind to others.  Take the time to get to know people.  We all have scars.  We all have past pains.  And we all have the ability to overcome those things and live the best lives we can.  There are so many people who are hurting who lash out continuously against the world.  These are the same people who are convinced the world is out to get them.  The fact is, they are only getting back more of what they put out there.  Being kind to others is an act of self-love.  If you don’t believe me, I dare you to give it a try.  You will be amazed in a very short time how it changes your world. 

So todays J is for my friend.  I think him for challenging me to think out of the box.  I also thank him for being the person he is and for the honest way that he lives his life.  He gives me more strength to do the same thing.  I know he’s going to love his J.  This one is titled J32 Pimpin His J Chair.

J32 Pimpin His J Chair

J32 Pimpin His J Chair

I love you all my beautiful co-creators of love and light!  You are special and divine just the way you are!  Thank you for having the courage to love like crazy.  Thank you for making my world and your world a better place.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://peachbutter.wordpress.com/2011/02/08/do-you-look-at-them-or-through-them/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hey hon,

    You did a wonderful job with this “J” project. I really like it…even the “Simon” reference (Yes, I will finish that story ;)).

    I also really like the title of this blog post and the subject matter. In reference to the first, it often does seem as if people look through those who are physically different in regard to weight or disability and that can be a frustrating thing to say the least. Very few people, except those you’re lucky enough to befriend, actually seem to want to take the time to look at you – although, in some instances that “seeming” may be just our insecurity.

    And I definitely believe, as you do, that love is the answer. It’s just a very hard answer at first. But, it gets easier day by day.


Leave a Reply

