J a day postaday2011 and frustration.

Hello Beautiful People!

Today has been a frustrating day for me artistically.  I had a vision in my mind of what I wanted to do with a poem and it didn’t turn out like I wanted.  So I had to strip if off my canvas and now I have to start over.  *Insert big dramatic sigh*

Stripped down canvas.

I am working on a piece for a friend of mine.  She shall remain nameless because she doesn’t know she’s getting this yet.  I wrote this poem for her over a year ago.  I was going to alter it and send it to her.  Only problem is, something inside wasn’t settled with this project.  I had this little nagging voice inside that kept saying, “Don’t send it yet.  You’re not done.”  I listened to this voice.  I’m actually getting much better at listening to my inner promptings and my life is improving greatly because of that.

Anyway, I ended up making her a little spirit doll to go with this poem.  I plan to attach her to the canvas with a hanging ribbon or decorative thread.  I have a new Epson Artisan 50 printer with waterproof inks.  I LOVE it.  I printed the poem out, tore the edges, inked them and adhered them to the canvas.  I come back 30 minutes later to a huge mess.  Not only do I have air bubbles but my inks are running!  WTH???  See the little butterflies?  They are just printed out too.  No ink running there.  So I was a bit baffled until I realized the difference.  I printed the butterflies out and sealed one side.  I let that side dry and then sealed the other side.  THEN I put them on the canvas.  Today I tried to do everything one right after the other with no drying time.  FAIL!!  So now I have to start over.  I can totally do it, but it’s just frustrating because I wanted to finish it up.  After a year of waiting for it to tell me what it wants to be and now I’m anxious to be done.  LOL

The upside is I made a zen tangle for my J a day project.  I kinda like the way it turned out.  It was surprisingly calming when I was working on it too.  I had forgotten how much fun zen tangles can be.  I sort of get lost in them and just relax and let whatever comes happen.  So here is todays J.

Day 4 J 4 zen tangle

I’m already having so much fun with this challenge and it’s making me think of different mediums and different angles.  Who knew trying to come up with a simple letter J could make a person think so much!  LOL  I did this one with colored pencils in one of my smaller sketchbooks.  I was thinking today about actually keeping all of these just to have the full collection in tact at the end of the 365 days.  I think it will be fun to look back on it and be reminded of what was going on those days. 

We are still completely iced in here in Atlanta.  It’s 17 degrees right now.  Tomorrow it’s only going up to 31 and then back down to 14 tomorrow night.  They say we should be thawing out by Saturday.  I’m looking forward to it.  I’ve already got cabin fever. 

Be well all.  Love each other and remember how precious and short life really is.  🙂

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://peachbutter.wordpress.com/2011/01/12/j-a-day-postaday2011-and-frustration/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

