Beeswax, Angels and Splenda.

Well today has been a fabulous monday!  I woke up early and got started with my day.  Mailed some packages to my winning bidders over at Ebay, went to two stores to pick up supplies and then came home and finished up a few projects and listed on Ebay. 

My Mountain Cabin   This is one of the paintings I added to Ebay today.  It’s painted on a piece of solid poplar wood and sealed with beeswax.  I absolutely love working with the beeswax.  It gives the paintings such a delightful texture and it just warms the piece up.  I had a long piece of the poplar wood that I was using in a closet at another apt.  When I moved, I took it with me since I bought it.  I had them cut it into squares at the home improvement store and I’ve painted four paintings so far on the pieces.  The first three sold on the first shot so that made me happy.  I love recycling things to paint on.  This week while I was moving some things around I found an old metal roof tin that I bought in North Ga. ages ago.  I think I will paint something on it this week.

Extreme grungy primitive angel dollThis little lovely is an extreme primitive angel that I listed on Ebay today.  I am in LOVE with her.  My gf Joyce says she is just “Fuggetabout it” ugly.  LOL  I think she will find a loving home.  I made her using coffee stained onasburg…but then when I had her sewn she wasn’t grungy enough for me so I painted her brown too.  I sanded her and rubbed her with cinnamon.  She’s got muslin wings that I hand quilted and put through the prim process.  She’s got two mismatched antique buttons for eyes.  Her nose is pinched and stitched.  Her mouth is an old piece of tea stained cotton crochet and her hair is made of sticks.  She is wearing a homemade cinnamon ornament necklace strung on twine.  She is MOST primitively lovely.  🙂

While I was working today I got hungry for some cinnamon toast.  Yes, I think the angel flung a craving on me.  LOL  I am trying desperately to get back on my food plan 100%.  So that means no sugar in the house.  So I tried it with splenda.  Let me just tell y’all…. splenda is great in my tea and over over cereal and such….but for cinnamon toast?  Not so much.  The flavor was okay but you could definately tell the difference.  And for me personally, I missed the sugar texture.  Oh well….on to more experiments.   Tomorrow is another day indeed!  🙂

Funky Folk Art Beta FishP.S.  My favorite lil fishy found a home!  He’s swimming to Canada to live with Brenda! 

Published in: on March 10, 2008 at 11:31 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://peachbutter.wordpress.com/2008/03/10/beeswax-angels-and-splenda/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. OK. I think that fish is one of my fav paintings ya do. it is very nice. great work.


Leave a Reply

